Why You Need Another Recipe for Blueberry Pancakes


When I do my weekly shopping, I usually try to pick up some sort of fresh fruit. I love fresh, local, in-season produce. However, since I live in New England, my local fruit intake is limited to five months of the year. The rest of the year, I just try to find some sort of fruit in season somewhere that has decent farming standards. Last week, I picked up some blueberries from Georgia at my local supermarket just hoping they wouldn’t be too sour to eat. Not that I have anything wrong with Georgia, but my supermarket usually lets me down. They were such perfect berries that my toddler ate an entire pint in one day! I ran back to the store and picked up several more pints. Now, my whole family is sick of eating them raw (how cruel that we tire so easily of such perfection). So, I’ve been cooking my way through the blueberry recipe canon.

I started with pancakes, and as I made them I kept thinking that there was no way I could blog about them because blueberry pancake recipes are a dime a dozen. I actually wondered if there were more published blueberry pancake recipes than there are people in the state of Maine. No, there is not; a Google recipe search produced only 343,000 results and the State of Maine has 1,318,301 people, but I think you get the point. So, why in the world would you want another one? You want it because 342,999 of the recipes are too bland for you, too tough, too loaded with fat, too many or too few blueberries, or too complicated to make.

The perfect recipe is different for everyone. Some people may not mind a recipe that is full of butter; others have time to whip their egg whites and egg yolk separately; I do mind and don’t have time. My perfect recipe takes no time to make; it’s high in fiber and protein, but low in fat, and it is flavorful and simple enough to make bleary-eyed first thing in the morning with the “help” of a toddler. So, here it is. The all around goodness of the perfect (for me) blueberry pancake recipe.

This recipe is delicious without blueberries, but why would you want to leave those out? I have tested this recipe using fresh and frozen blueberries and both work equally as well. There are two ways to add the blueberries to your batter:

Your first option is to just toss the blueberries into the batter after mixing and before spooning the batter onto the griddle. This is certainly the fastest option, and if you have fresh blueberries and use a non-stick griddle, then I see no reason not to do this.

Your second option is to sprinkle about 1 ½ tablespoons of blueberries on each pancake after you pour the batter on the griddle. I prefer this option for two reasons. First, when you mix the blueberries into the batter, it tends to stick to the pan, and secondly because it will turn your batter bluish gray unless you are using fresh blueberries.

Good luck and enjoy!

Whole Wheat Blueberry Pancakes

makes 12 pancakes

1 egg

1 cup non-fat milk

1/2 cup plain non-fat yogurt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup blueberries

In a medium-sized mixing bowl combine egg, milk, yogurt and vanilla. In another bowl combine flour, baking powder, soda and salt. Add dry ingredients to wet and mix only enough to combine. A few lumps are fine.

Heat a large skillet or griddle over medium heat until thoroughly heated. Spray with non-stick cooking spray or lightly brush with oil.

 

This recipe was based on a recipe that can be found here.

4 thoughts on “Why You Need Another Recipe for Blueberry Pancakes

  1. They look beautiful in your pictures. I made them (without blueberries), and they were moist, tender, and delicious.

  2. Love, love this recipe. Easy, delicious and healthy. I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the batter and it gave
    an extra dimension to the batter.

Leave a Reply

