Vegeriffic Veggie Sauce


It’s Meatless Monday again and this time there were no mistakes! So far I’ve just made Monday pasta night, and tonight we again stuck to the safe Italian meatless theme and had calzones. I had some pizza dough that I made over the weekend in the freezer so I pulled that out and whipped together some sautéed spinach and artichoke hearts for my calzone and some sautéed mushrooms for hubby. Little guy got a killer mini pizza with my newest creation:Vegeriffic Veggie Sauce.  Earlier today I was inspired by this post at Folie a Deax to ramp up the hidden veggies in my food. I am hardly the first person to add extra veggies to tomato sauce and throw it in a blender, but even my hubby commented on how good it was. I made extra so we could dip our calzones in it, and we ended up eating about equal parts of sauce and calzone. And more importantly, Little guy ate a huge amount of his pizza which had a nice thick layer of the sauce on it.

Vegeriffic Veggie Sauce (Toddler Approved)

You can use almost any veggies in this sauce. I used what I had in the house. I would stay away from anything in the cabbage family (cabbage, broccoli, asparagus, etc).  I didn’t have fresh basil tonight so I made with pesto and it was very nice, but I think basil would give a cleaner flavor.

3 Tablespoons Olive Oil

1 small onion, roughly chopped

3 carrots, peeled and roughly chopped

1 tsp salt

3 cloves garlic, peeled and split

1 summer squash, seeded and roughly chopped

1 – 26 oz can or box crushed tomatoes (I use Pomi brand tomatoes because they are BPA Free. See more on this here.)

1 Tablespoon Italian Seasoning or small handful fresh chopped herbs

2 Tablespoons pesto or 1/2 cup torn basil leaves
Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add onions, carrots and salt. Saute until vegetables start to turn slightly brown. Add garlic and squash and cook long enough for the garlic to lose its raw flavor, about three minutes. Add tomatoes and Italian seasoning. Reduce heat to low and simmer for 1 hour or until all vegetables are very tender. Remove from heat and add basil. Season to taste and cool for about 1/2 hour.

Blend in a food processor or blender in three batches until completely smooth. Reheat if necessary or use immediately for pizzas, pastas or anything you want.

Tomato on FoodistaTomato

2 thoughts on “Vegeriffic Veggie Sauce

  1. Pingback: Whoopie Pie Cupcakes with Beet Puree « It's Not Easy Eating Green

  2. Pingback: Its Not Easy Eating Green | Whoopie Pie Cupcakes with Beet Puree

Leave a Reply

