Field Trip: Dinner with Chef Wheeler Del Torro


I had a wonderful opportunity today to meet other Boston area bloggers. Chef Wheeler Del Torro hosted a meal that allowed local bloggers to meet and network at KitchnTable in Brighton. Not to disappoint, Chef Del Torro’s menu included the yummy ice cream from his shop 3 Scoops. Some of the bloggers I got to talk shop with were writers from Cheap Beets, Satisfied Cravings, Tri to Cook, Simply Gourmet in Southie and Blunder Construction. It was so nice to talk to these other bloggers and chat about what it’s like to blog in the Boston area. Chef Del Torro’s dinner was a pleasant backdrop to our afternoon of networking.

Here are a few pictures from the night…

The staff at 3 Scoops, the location of KitchnTable, prepares for our meal…

Our first course was waiting for us when we sat at our table. It was a salad of watermelon with gorgonzola and mint.

The second course was the most entertaining of the evening. The chef left the bruschetta unseasoned and had us experiment with the way that different salts change the flavor of food. Here are the salts:

We all had fun tasting the Bruschetta with these salts. I was not a fan of the Kala Namak, a powdered salt which tasted strongly of eggs (top right). The Hawaiian Black Sea Salt (front) was my personal favorite. I’ll be honest, I don’t remember the other salt, but it was a nice mild salt that was not at all harsh. I’ll let you know if I remember it. Here’s the Bruschetta we tasted with the salt:

The antipasto plate was probably my favorite course (except the ice cream) of the night because it combined a few of my favorite foods; figs, prosciutto and cheese.

There were other courses too, but really, the dessert was what it was all about. We had the opportunity to try our choice of any of the ice creams from the 3 scoops line-up. I asked what the most popular were and that’s what I tried; Coconut and OMFG (oh my fudgy goodness). Coconut and chocolate together – can you blame me???

While the food was plenty, what I really enjoyed was getting to know other bloggers in the area and telling them about this little blog. Not only did I get to tell them a little about the blog, but I got to show off this picture. That makes the whole night worth while, don’t ya think????

 

3 thoughts on “Field Trip: Dinner with Chef Wheeler Del Torro

  1. Pingback: Dinner with Chef Wheeler Del Torro « It's Not Easy Eating Green

Leave a comment