Grilled Corn and Lobster Salad


Grilled Corn and Lobster SaladLast year the twins were too young to enjoy the beach; or maybe I should say they were too young for ME to enjoy the beach. Going to the beach with two babies is more work than it’s worth. But two-year-old twins are FANTASTIC! All you need for the twins this year is a pail and shovel, a towel, sunscreen and snacks. So, I’ve returned to the beach this year.

Everyone in Eastern Massachusetts has a beach. There are so many lovely beaches here, that you have to just pick one and call it yours. For us, that beach is Horseneck Beach in Westport, MA.  Horseneck is a huge stretch of sand. On weekends it can be crowded and it frequently has rough water. However, it is also lovely, great for people watching and a lot of fun! The area around Horseneck is just a lovely as the beach too. Local farms, spread out across the countryside and beautiful houses dot the landscape. Even vineyards from the local winery, Westport Rivers add to the charm and grace of the area. Of course, one of the main resources of the area is seafood, and Revolution Lobster is my favorite place to pick up some of the local flavor.

I discovered Revolution Lobster through Edible South Shore & South Coast’s Facebook Page, which is always full of useful information.  I wish I knew why, but their lobsters taste better than anyone else. Serious. They are just better! Maybe it’s because the price of them will not break the bank. As of last Monday the price for soft shell lobsters was 4.99/lb. At that price, I’ve spent my summer buying one extra lobby for leftovers. If you’ve never tried my Old Bay Steamed Lobster, you should – it rocks!

Leftover lobsters may seem strange, but not when leftovers are as good as this salad. It’s is 100% best of summer. A single salad with lobster, grilled corn and tomatoes. If you could extract all the good flavors of summer it would taste like this. The recipe is adapted from the Cooking Light recipe for Crab and Grilled Corn Salad. My adaptations are simple changes made to better highlight the flavor of lobster; little changes such as parsley instead of cilantro, lemon instead of lime and chives instead of scallions. Of course to make the recipe truly mine, I throw in a little Old Bay – because shellfish always has Old Bay in this house.

Summer is fading fast, and I’m a little wistful about that this year. Little Guy is off to Kindergarten in a week, Labor Day is this weekend and tinges of orange are already dotting the tops of the maple trees. I’m going to hold on tight to summer this year and this salad will certainly help. Enjoy!

 Note: I have decided to do away with the pictures taken during the cooking process. I think they were of limited help, and kept getting my camera dirty! If you need any help with how to do any step of any of my recipes, send me a note at itsnoteasyeatinggreen(at)gmail.com and I will happily help you out!

.3[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:81]

Leave a comment